RSS

I scorned to be a little one…

13 Oct

I resolved, therefore, to direct my mind to the Holy Scriptures, that I might see what they were. And behold, I saw something not comprehended by the proud, not disclosed to children, something lowly in the hearing, but sublime in the doing, and veiled in mysteries. Yet I was not of the number of those who could enter into it or bend my neck to follow its steps. For then it was quite different from what I now feel. When I then turned toward the Scriptures, they appeared to me to be quite unworthy to be compared with the dignity of Tully [Marcus Tullius Cicero].  For my inflated pride was repelled by their style, nor could the sharpness of my wit penetrate their inner meaning. Truly they were of a sort to aid the growth of little ones, but I scorned to be a little one and, swollen with pride, I looked upon myself as fully grown.

–Augustine, Confessions, Book 3, chapter 5

Image credit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/rachelfordjames/2718168289

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 13, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a comment